Mini Camera Review – The Olympus OM-D E-M5.

Olympus OM-D EM5. – Mini Review.

Olympus OM-D E-M5. 12mm f2.0 Lens. ISO 1000.

Working at a camera store I’m lucky enough to be able to check out and play with all the latest cameras, gear and equipment. Having to keep up to date with the latest technologies and offerings from various companies is also part of the job, so I was well aware of the hype surrounding the Olympus OM-D E-M5. Having already played extensively with my Mums Olympus E-P3 I was well aware of the powerful m4/3 system cameras Olympus were bringing out. Even though I’m a bit of a fanboy of the Panasonic system (having a Panasonic GX1 myself) I was equally intrigued by Olympus’ latest offering the OM-D, the digital reincarnation of a classic film camera the Olympus OM.

Olympus OM-D E-M5. 12mm f2.0 Lens. ISO 1000.

When I finally got my hands on it in store I was impressed. Last night we had the annual Olympus training night where we really go to put it to the test on the brightly lit streets of Northbridge. By the end of the night I’d jumped ships and was onboard with Olympus Finally the time came to take the cameras to the street I immediately chose the OM-D with the 12mm f2.0 lens with the idea of shooting some street photography. Like the OM-D the 12mm f2.0 is well built, solid and once attached to the OM-D…. it looks damn sexy.

Olympus OM-D E-M5. 12mm f2.0 Lens. ISO 1000.

I was immediately taken aback by the amazing feel and quality of the camera. It feels solid, really solid. I guess that has something to do with the all out weather sealing and full magnesium alloy construction, even with this super solid construction it still looks great and is as light as a feather. The focusing is incredible, blazingly fast and accurate in various difficult lighting conditions.

Olympus OM-D E-M5. 12mm f2.0 Lens. ISO 1000.

Shootings on the streets with the OM-D is a dream. It’s discreet enough to not be noticed by anyone and the optical viewfinder lights up the world in front of you. The shutter sound is minimal (I had trouble hearing it myself) and as a package people aren’t going to take you too seriously because they’re used to seeing a big DSLR. Little do they know, you’re comfortably shooting in the dark at 1000 ISO and producing professional quality images.

Olympus OM-D E-M5. 12mm f2.0 Lens. ISO 1000.

Now I only got to use with the OM-D for about half an hour but I truly loved every second of it. It is as much of a toy as it is a serious tool, which produces incredibly detailed, sharp and clear images. The 5 Axis image stabiliser makes light work of any camera shake, right down to about 1/3 of a second.

Olympus OM-D E-M5. 12mm f2.0 Lens. ISO 1000.

From last nights quick run about, the only flaw I could find was the EVF not switching on quickly enough when I put it to my eye, even then it must of only be a .05 of a second delay so hardly worth writing about.

Olympus OM-D E-M5. 12mm f2.0 Lens. ISO 1000.

Overall The Olympus OM-D E-M5 is an amazing camera. I absolutely love it and desperately want to put it to test again. Unfortunately I can’t really justify buying one at the moment so I guess I’ll just have to wait for the next instalment.

Leave a Reply

