Savior – Before and After.

Here is one of my favourite recent shots of local R’n’B superstars Savior,  I knew I wanted to get a cool and different shot of them and I didn’t really want to use the flash to much as it would result in to much of a standard band shot. There were hardly any lights in the small venue except a couple of fluoros, thankfully one of them, a strong blue fluoro was positioned right behind the band creating a great silhouette. I knew I wanted to capture the band as a silhouette but also have enough detail in the image to be able to make out the band members and also be able to make out the microphone. I knew photoshop would have to be used heavily in the post processing to achieve the shot so I decided to shoot at an ISO of 500, Aperture of f4 and shutter speed of 1/30th of a second. The ISO of 500 at an aperture of f4  allowed me to shoot at 1/30th of a second shutterspeed which was quick enough to freeze the action and give me the silhouette without loosing to much detail in the blacks (although it doesn’t seem that way on the original file). An aperture of f4 also allowed me to have all the band members focused on and sharp enough to grab as much detail as possible while ISO 500 meant that the image wouldn’t be too grainy and wouldn’t get excessively grainy and unrecognizable in post-processing.

The post-processing part was a lot more experimental. I tried post-processing the image in Capture One as I usually would but couldn’t quite get the result I wanted so I opened the RAW file in Photoshop Camera Raw 7.1 and got to work.

I have posted below the before and after images with all the settings I used to create the image and get the tone I was after. To get to the final result I simply opened up the processed file in Photoshop and burnt in a bit of the background which brings the image together a bit.

I hope you like the image and if you have any questions or comments please post below.

Cheers,

Duncan

Leave a Reply

